Duties & Responsibilities

The seven member County Council serves as the fiscal branch of county government and has the ultimate decision making power regarding fiscal affairs. The council has authority to view or review fiscal matters, determine proper policy, and set priorities for the allocation and expenditure of county funds. The powers of the Council include:
  • Approving and fixing annual operating budgets of all county government offices and agencies;
  • Establishing salaries, wages, per diems, and other compensation for all county officials and employees;
  • Fixing tax rates and establishing levies on all county property for the purpose of raising funds to meet budget requirements in conducting county business as well as authorizing the borrowing of money in the form of bonds and notes;
  • Appropriating public funds, i.e., authorizing the expenditure of county money by particular officials or departments for specific purposes;
  • Authorizing certain purchases or sales of county owned land;
By virtues of their positions, the seven Council Members also serve as ex-officio members of the Porter County Government Charitable Non-Profit Foundation.
In addition, individual Council Members are appointed annually by a majority vote of the Council to serve on the following boards and commissions:
  • 911 Advisory Board
  • Community Corrections Advisory Board
  • Council On Aging Board
  • Emergency Management Advisory Board
  • Juvenile Justice Advisory Board
  • Northwest Indiana Regional Development Commission
  • Porter County Redevelopment Commission
  • Plan Commission
  • Recycling & Waste Reduction District
  • Storm Water Advisory Board