Board of Elections & Registration

On July 1, 2019, Indiana House Enrolled Act 1217 took effect and reorganized how Porter County elections are conducted. The law directed that a new Board of Elections has all of the powers concerning elections and voter registration.

The Board of Elections & Registration is comprised of five members. Those members include the Porter County Clerk as an ex-officio member, along with two members appointed by the Democrat County Chair and two members appointed by the Republican County Chair. The members appointed by the County Chairs may NOT be a relative of the Chair who appoints them.

The new law also authorized the Board of Elections & Registration to vest day to day operations in an Elections & Registration Office.

For more information choose from the options below.